An historical archive of the year of the great flood.


From Rebecca Lawrence, Community Advocate:

It’s been almost a year since the floods affected Jamestown. Commemorative activities have been planned throughout the flood zones all over Colorado including Jamestown.

There is no “right or wrong way” to approach this…no “playbook” to follow. The best thing to do is follow your heart…. your heart knows what you need. Whether it’s:
…..to join in the activities around town with other community members
…..to be with friends in Jamestown
…..to be with friends elsewhere
…..to be solitary in your favorite spot

Above all (please forgive me when I say this),” be patient” with yourself & those around you. Patience…a word you have grown weary of this past year as the flood recovery has taken longer than many anticipated.

…..please be patient and try not to be judgmental of others for the way they choose to approach the anniversary….be tolerant & compassionate of their approach to the days ahead.

When you were cut off from the rest of the county, it was the united community approach, coupled with diversity and individual talents that brought you out. A lot has been accomplished since then….clean-up…installed water lines…repairs…more people are home…the school is open…there is forward positive motion.

So however you choose “to be” when the 1 year mark rolls around be good to yourself…be good to those around you…give yourself the credit you deserve for the perseverance you have shown.

If I can support you in anyway don’t hesitate to let me know. Please know what an honor it is to be working for Jamestown.

Rebecca Lawrence
Jamestown Community Advocate

Comments on: "Be patient with yourself" (3)

  1. CRAIG ANSBAUGH said:

    I really appreciated what Rebecca wrote. As this anniversary approaches I have had so many mixed feelings with regard to how I want to spend it. Those feelings change almost daily. It is good to be reminded that being kind to those around you, as well as to yourself is what is important. Whether I am up in Jamestown for the anniversary or not, you will all be in my thoughts and heart.

  2. Donna said:

    Rebecca, thank you so much for your amazing words and the incite that goes along with them. I am with Craig, my emotions and required decisions and actions change almost daily. You all are in my thoughts too and even though I am rarely in Jimtown I know it has not been easy but it is coming together and kindness and patience is truly the answer along with gratefullnes … We have so much to be grateful for. Love, love, love

  3. Christina Anderson said:

    I used to live in the canyon just East of Jamestown. I have only made it up twice since the flood. But I love this resilient, supportive little community and I miss living in the beautiful mountains. You will all be in my thoughts and heart more than ever this month.

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

